Pulmonary and Critical Care In the Department of Medicine

Anesthesia Fellowship

The Stanford CCM Program is approved by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) for both anesthesia and medicine CCM.

Anesthesia CCM Fellowship application. (Applicants for Medicine CCM Fellowship should use ERAS.)

Anesthesia CCM: The Anesthesia CCM Fellowship is a one-year program involving patient care at Stanford and the PAVAMC and opportunity for research that may include additional training if desired. Satisfactory completion of CCM training allows Anesthesia CCM fellows to apply for subspecialty certification in CCM by the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) if they are certified by the ABA in Anesthesiology.

Surgical CCM The American Board of Surgery in 2006 has announced that a fully trained surgeon (or a surgical resident with at least 3 years of General Surgery training) may obtain CCM training in an accredited Anesthesia CCM program for 1 year of training. Surgical applicants should apply through our Anesthesia CCM site and application process. Surgeons who complete CCM training with us are eligible to take the ABS Critical Care exam.

Medicine CCM
Two years of CCM training are required for subspecialty certification by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) if certified by the ABIM in Internal Medicine. Alternatively, ABIM certified internists with ABIM certification in another subspecialty (e.g., Pulmonary, Nephrology, Cardiology, Hematology, Infectious Disease) are eligible for ABIM certification in CCM with 1 year of CCM training.

CCM fellows are expected to advance their knowledge of critical care medicine through a concentrated exposure to critically ill patients as well as concentrated time for the study of materials related to such patients. We provide an intimate relationship with experienced ICU attendings that can help translate that knowledge into clinical skill. Fellows are also expected to learn how to convey knowledge/skill, and become teachers of their specialty. Lastly, they are also expected to acquire skills with regard to the management of an ICU and the triage of critically ill patients.

With the initiation of accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) in 1987, the Stanford CCM Programs in Anesthesiology and Internal Medicine have gained accreditation status each evaluation period and with the establishment of subspecialty board certification in 1986, the CCM fellows graduating from Stanford have had 100% success in attaining certification.

Stanford Medicine Resources:

Footer Links: